Custom Search
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 198.168.2.1

  1. #1
    Apprentice Mechanic R.B. is on a distinguished road R.B.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Acton
    Age
    70
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0

    Default 198.168.2.1

    When I'm online this site keeps trying to ping
    Zone Alarm blocks it

    Can anyone tell me what this site is and/or why it
    keeps pinging my computer?

    Running Win 98se on a PIII with sympatico

    Thanks
    R.B.

  2. #2
    Master Mechanic Dan is on a distinguished road Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,748
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Depending on the your IP scheme, that looks to be an IP address from your network (Private) as appose to public.
    ....:: Main Computer: MacBook Pro! Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz, 2GB DDR2 667MHz RAM, 200GB SATA HD, Nvidia 8600M 256mb VC @ 1440 * 900 rez ::.....

    ....:: HTPC: AMD X2 4400+, ASUS A8NSLI Premium, OCZ PC3200 2GB Premier Series Dual Channel, ASUS Geforce 7800GTX Top 256mb, SB LIVE 5.1!, CAMBRIDGE SOUNDWORKS FPS2000, LOGITECH MX 5000 DUO, 2x Seagate 250GB SATA, SONY 16X DVD-ROM, HP -/+ 8x DVDBurner ::.....

  3. #3
    Senior member nightwolf is on a distinguished road nightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    908
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R.B. View Post
    When I'm online this site keeps trying to ping
    Zone Alarm blocks it

    Can anyone tell me what this site is and/or why it
    keeps pinging my computer?

    Running Win 98se on a PIII with sympatico

    Thanks
    R.B.

    do you have that modem with built in wireless router becuase that is the same ip address as the modem/router
    How to take owner ship of a file in windows xp
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...308421&sd=tech

    Check your own Hijack this log with
    http://www.hijackthis.de/ (english site)


  4. #4
    Master Mechanic LukaszM is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    201
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R.B. View Post
    When I'm online this site keeps trying to ping
    Zone Alarm blocks it

    Can anyone tell me what this site is and/or why it
    keeps pinging my computer?

    Running Win 98se on a PIII with sympatico

    Thanks
    R.B.
    If you have a router, then this IP is one that most likely belongs to it. You can set zone-alarm to allow communication with this IP. Either way, it's an IP of a device on your local network (i.e. within your home) so there's really now worries.

  5. #5
    my 79 baby lovey is on a distinguished road lovey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bowmanville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    806
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    it,s a router IP address

  6. #6
    Master Mechanic mander will become famous soon enough mander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Waterloo
    Posts
    2,212
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lovey View Post
    it,s a router IP address
    Agreed. I know this for a fact as I was having connection problems with Sympatico recently and this is the exact IP that tech support had me put in to see if I could get to the modems IP.
    Last edited by mander; 09-16-2006 at 12:49 PM.
    Wouldn't it be nice if whenever we messed up our life we could simply press 'Ctrl Alt Delete' and start all over?

    TCM Recipes

    The best laid plans come on many tracks.

  7. #7

    Default

    It's most likely a router (since apparently many come configured with this IP as the default), but not necessarily. It could be a comp on the network.

  8. #8
    Tech Support Nave is on a distinguished road Nave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Oshawa, On
    Posts
    2,086
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    I dont think its a comp, as the router is defaulted to xxx.xxx.x.1 by default

  9. #9
    Master Mechanic Mindcore is on a distinguished road Mindcore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Between the Sun & Moon
    Age
    48
    Posts
    1,881
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Actually I just did a trace on the address 198.168.2.1 and it is registered with CGI in Montreal.

    OrgName: CGI Group Inc.
    OrgID: CGIGR-2
    Address: 1350,Rene-Levesque Blvd West
    Address: CCE
    City: Montreal
    StateProv: QC
    PostalCode: H3G-1T4
    Country: CA
    NetRange: 198.168.2.0 - 198.168.2.255
    CIDR: 198.168.2.0/24
    NetName: CGI-GMA
    NetHandle: NET-198-168-2-0-1
    Parent: NET-198-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Assignment
    NameServer: NS.M3ISYSTEMS.QC.CA
    NameServer: NS.INTERLINK.NET
    NameServer: NS.REZONET.NET
    Comment:
    RegDate: 1993-06-08
    Updated: 2005-01-05
    OrgTechHandle: JCO141-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Contant, Jean-claude
    OrgTechPhone: +1-514-415-3000
    OrgTechEmail: jean-claude.contant@cgi.co




    Internal networks are usually 192.168.x.x
    "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    Master Mechanic LukaszM is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    201
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Hahaha!!!
    We all misread the IP as being 192.168.2.1
    In that case, yes of course it's the address of a computer outside your network...

  11. #11

    Default

    D'oh! Can't believe I missed that...

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mercury View Post
    D'oh! Can't believe I missed that...
    i guess that's exactly what the "culprit" intends. I as well assumed it read "192" rather than the "198". Most ppl would hav foolishly allowed it to hav access. I know I would hav.
    Ricardozooms!!!!!

  13. #13
    my 79 baby lovey is on a distinguished road lovey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bowmanville
    Age
    58
    Posts
    806
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    same here,I thought it said 192,time to wear my glasses

  14. #14
    Senior member nightwolf is on a distinguished road nightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Brampton
    Posts
    908
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I too missed that, I need to slow down and read the words.
    How to take owner ship of a file in windows xp
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...308421&sd=tech

    Check your own Hijack this log with
    http://www.hijackthis.de/ (english site)


  15. #15
    Master Mechanic LukaszM is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Mississauga
    Posts
    201
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    R.B.
    What you can do for now is simply to block the address with zonealarm. If you do not notice anything not working, then just leave it that way and have the piece of mind that that address won't connect. On the other hand, if you notice that your internet works slower, an application does not work or something...then you can always unblock it.
    Do you notice this "attack" taking place when you do something in particular? Maybe chat with someone through MSN, or visit a website or such? The IP address is from Quebec, and hosted by Cabletron (ISP), so maybe you are chatting with someone form around there and their computer just pings you excessively?

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts